Super Thirty India: Education, Job, Business and Super 30 News Super30 is a portal from where you can get FreeJobAlerts, Education, Business, Direct Selling, Health and Super 30 News.

Hindu calendar

What is Hindu calendar?

Nakshatra (constellation), date, number, yoga and day are used to make Hindu calendar or ‘Panchang’.

Hindu calendar is made by adopting (following) two types of methods- first depends on the movement of the moon around the earth (revolution) and second depends on the movement of the earth around the sun. On the first day of new year, festivals like- ‘Yugadi’ in Karnataka, ‘Gudhi padva’ in maharashtra, ‘Vishu’ in sea beach area of kerala and Karnataka, ‘Vaisaki’ in west bengal, ‘Vaisakhi’ in Punjab and different festivals like this are celebrated in other countries too. Chandraman yugadi is called for the followers of the moon and Swarnman yugadi is called for the followers of the sun.

Chaitra, Baishakha, Jyeshtha, Aashadh, Shrawan, Bhadrapad, Aashwin, Kartik, Margshish, Paush, Magha and Phalgun all are known as the 12 months of Chandra calendar.

Each of the months is divided in to two sections each of them have 14 to 16 days like-

  • Shukla paksha- amavasya (no moon) to poornima (full moon)
  • Krishna paksha- poornima (full moon) to amavasya (no moon).

March to April every year is known as one day chandraman yugadi. There are 12 months even in sun’s calendar like- Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. Swarnman yugadi falls mostly on 14th February every year.

Other considerable facts like- date, day, constellation, number (11), yoga (27), etc. are also studied for making panchang. As we all know that there are total 7 days in a week which known as seven planets except Rahu and Ketu.

Like this, a year is also divided into two parts- Uttarayana and Dakshinayana. They are also very important for all the things. This is the reason why importance is given to north-east and south-east directions along with east direction. The sun is active for six months i.e. from 14 January to 15 July on north part of the earth every year and it is known as uttarayana while the remaining six months i.e. from 16 July to 14 January the sun is active on the south part of the earth, which is known as Dakshinayana. But according to English calendar, 21st December to 20th June is known as uttarayana and 21st June to 20th December is known as Dakshinayana. Day time is longer and night is shorter in uttarayana and just opposite of it in Dakshinayana.

Six seasons– There are six seasons according to Hindu calendar and all run for two months.

These six seasons are describing below-

S.No.SeasonsChandra monthsIn English
1.SpringChitra to BaishakhMarch to May
2.SummerJyeshtha to AashadhaMay to July
3.RainyShrawan to BhadrapadJuly to September
4.AutumnAshwin to KartikSeptember to November
5.Cold seasonMargshish to PaushNovember to January
6.WinterMagha to PhalgunJanuary to March

 As like there is six seasons as there are four weathers in a year, which has been described below-

S.No.WeatherIn English
1.Spring21st March to 21st June
2.Summer21st June to 22nd September
3.Autumn22nd September to 22nd December
4.Winter22nd December to 21st March

 Date– The distance between the sun and the moon has been divided in three sections, because these are known as date. When all they are appear in a straight line, it is known as new Chandra day and when they are become separate from each other, it is known as full Chandra day. All the dates are at 12° from each other. There are total 15 dates in both shukla paksha and Krishna paksha.

Shukla paksha– all these from amawasya (no moon) to poornima (full moon)- pratipada (1st), dwitiya (2nd), tritiya (3rd), chaturtha (4th), panchami (5th), shashthi (6th), saptmi (7th), ashthami (8th), navami (9th), dashami (10th), ekadashi (11th), dwadashi (12th), tryodashi (13th) and poornima (full moon), etc. are located at 12° at each other.

Krishnapaksha– All these from poornima (full moon) to amawasya (no moon) – pratipada (1st), dwitiya (2nd), tritiya (3rd), chaturtha (4th), panchami (5th), shashthi (6th), saptmi (7th), ashthami (8th), navami (9th), dashami (10th), ekadashi (11th), dwadashi (12th), tryodashi (13th) and poornima (full moon), etc. are located at 12° at each other.

From beginning of constructing house to entering ceremony of it, birth chart is also required along with panchang (Hindu calendar) for finding out auspicious moment. One, who has no knowledge about it properly, can not find out its solutions properly. So, he/she should consult any expert pandit (Brahmin) for this purpose.   

Yoga– yoga is made by the effect of the sun, moon and starts after coming them in a particular position. These are 27 in numbers, which are as follow-


Karan (number) – The effect of a particular position of date, day, constellation (group of stars), etc. is known as number (karan). There are two numbers (karans) in a date; means there are total sixty karans in 30 days of month. Normally, there are 11 karans-

1.Bav7.Vishti (bhadra)

Hindu year (Savantsar) – Hindu’s eight years are as follow-

1. Prabhav2. Vibhav3. Shukla4. Pramudatta
5. Pragyahatpati6. Angiras7. Shrimukha8. Bhav
9. Yuv10. Dhatu11. Hevilambi12. Vilambi
13. Vikari14. Sharvari15. Plav16. Shubhakritu
17. Shobhakritu18. Krodhi19. Vishvavasu20. Prabhav
21. Ishwar22. Bahudhanya23. pramadi24. Vikram
25. Vishu26. Chitrabhanu27. Shvabhanu28. Parthivi
29. Vyavya30. Sarvjitu31. Sarvadhari32. Tarna
33. Virodhi34. Vikriti35. Khar36. Nandan
37. Vijay38. Jay39. Manmath40. Durmukhi
41. Plawang42. Keelak43. Somya44. Sadharan
45. Virodhikrit46. Paridhavi47. Pramadikha48. Anand
49. Rakshas50. Nal51. Pingal52. Kalyukti
53. Siddharthi54. Raudri55. Durmati56. Rudhirodhagari
57. Dudunbhi58. Raktakshi59. Krodhan60. Akshay

Read in Hindi

Super 30 Vastu Shastra Tips

  1. Characteristics of Vastu Purush
  2. Chief Principle of Vastu Shastra
  3. Colour Combination for Bedroom according to Vastu Shastra
  4. Commercial Vastu Shastra
  5. Construction of House on Different Types of Lands
  6. Door decoration ideas 
  7. Eliminating Vastu Dosh through Astrology Mechanism
  8. Fundamental Rule of Vaastu Shaastra
  9. Horoscope
  10. House Construction Astrology
  11. Household life and theology
  12. How to remove Vastu Dosh from home
  13. Indian Astrology
  14. Indian Traditions and Theology
  15. Industrial Unit
  16. Number and Yantra
  17. Special tips and rules of vastu shastra about house construction
  18. Super 30 Vastu Tips
  19. Vaastu Principles and Their Conclusion for Different Places
  20. Vaastu Principles for a Bathroom
  21. Vastu And Five Elements
  22. Vastu Plants- Vastu Shastra for home interiors
  23.  An essential part of Life
  24. Science of Architecture
  25. Vastu Shastra and Rang Shastra
  26. Vastu Shastra tips for home, bedroom, kitchen, living room, house, toilet construction
  27. Vastu Tips for Home Construction
  28. Vastukala for buildings
  29. What is vaastu shastra?
  30. Yuga and Vedic Dharma

Buy Plots, Flats and Home on Easy Installments

If you want to take plots (land) or flat in Delhi, Faridabad and Noida, contact us to click on below button. You will get the right plot and flat according to Vastu Shastra. Contact us to see the plot, the facility is free to go. When we see you, our car will take you away from your place and you will have to leave it your place. Thanks! Buy Plots, Flats and Home on Easy Installments
HTML Snippets Powered By :
error: Content is protected !!